GET A QUOTE
LATEST INSURANCE NEWS
Auto Insurance in Virginia
- Home »
- Auto Insurance
In Virginia, you are not required to purchase auto insurance, but you do have to pay the Virginia's Department of Motor Vehicles to drive uninsured. You cannot drive uninsured without paying a fine with the state DMV. This fine is $500 per year and will allow you to drive 12 months uninsured. However, this does not protect you at all financially in the case of an accident. According to state law, you must have a way of paying for property damage or injuries that result from an auto accident. In fact, in many cases, it is easier to only purchase auto insurance, and it can protect you better than not having insurance at all.
Minimum Requirements for Auto Insurance in Virginia
If you do decide to get auto insurance in Virginia, there are a few minimum requirements the insurance must meet for you to satisfy the requirements set forth by law. These minimum coverages include uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage, $25,000 coverage per person for injuries in an accident, $50,000 coverage for the total injuries per accident, and $20,000 for property damage per accident.
Other Minimum Requirements
You must have the uninsured and underinsured coverage to pay for damages and injuries if an accident is caused by a driver without insurance or without sufficient insurance to cover the damage. This will prevent you from having to pay for any damages or injuries out of pocket. Your uninsured and underinsured part of the policy has minimum requirements as well. These include the same minimums that are required for your liability insurance detailed previously.
When you are ready to choose an auto policy or even if you want to explore more options, contact us at Insurance Shopper VA for all of your auto insurance needs. We are happy to assist you with a quote and to answer any of your questions.